The Lord’s Day 4

Hymn
NOTHING BUT JESUS by Augustus Toplady (1740-1778) / David L. Ward
1. I long to prize God’s matchless worth
Above the passing things of earth;
To be reserved for Christ who died,
Surrendered to the crucified.

Chorus:
Nothing but Jesus, nothing but Jesus for me –
His cross set before me so Jesus is all I can see.
Lord, seize my heart, assert Your right,
And put all other loves to flight:
Nothing but Jesus, nothing but Jesus for me.

2. Removed from all the noise and strife,
The lust, the pomp, the pride of life;
Direct my heart to heav’nly things
Until my mouth of glory sings.

3. I long to know Your boundless love
And find my joy in things above;
For this I would be powerless
Without the Spirit I possess.

HT: Reformed Praise

Reading from the Psalms

Psalm 4

Answer me when I call, O God of my righteousness!
You have given me relief when I was in distress.
Be gracious to me and hear my prayer!

O men, how long shall my honor be turned into shame?
How long will you love vain words and seek after lies? Selah
But know that the Lord has set apart the godly for himself;
the Lord hears when I call to him.

Be angry, and do not sin;
ponder in your own hearts on your beds, and be silent. Selah
Offer right sacrifices,
and put your trust in the Lord.

There are many who say, “Who will show us some good?
Lift up the light of your face upon us, O Lord!”
You have put more joy in my heart
than they have when their grain and wine abound.

In peace I will both lie down and sleep;
for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety. (ESV)

Reading from the Heidelberg Catechism

9. Is God, then, not unjust by requiring in His law what man cannot do?

A. No, for God so created man that he was able to do it. But man, at the instigation of the devil, in deliberate disobedience robbed himself and all his descendants of these gifts.

10. Will God allow such disobedience and apostasy to go unpunished?

A. Certainly not. He is terribly displeased with our original sin as well as our actual sins. Therefore He will punish them by a just judgment both now and eternally, as He has declared: Cursed be every one who does not abide by all things written in the book of the law, and do them (Galatians 3:10).

11. But is God not also merciful?

A. God is indeed merciful, but He is also just. His justice requires that sin committed against the most high majesty of God also be punished with the most severe, that is, with everlasting, punishment of body and soul.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

